Skip to content
Home » Latest News » 2022 Order of Merit

2022 Order of Merit

Royal canb 14th hole

The ACT Monaro District Golf Association will continue to conduct the “FEDEX CUP” style Order-of-Merit Competition in 2022. This year-long competition is based on points awarded for final positions in the various Club Open events played around the District. There are 16 currently defined for 2022, starting with the Gold Creek Classic in mid-January. The series will comprise both a gross and a nett competition, therefore, it is not just an event for elite, low-handicap golfers. A trial, in 2021, of an additional seperate senior division did not attract many entrants so this has been discontinued.

Recent winners in the Scratch Division include Adam Robinson (2021) and Steve Wyatt (2019); whilst in the Nett Division Chris Winslade (2021) and Shane Seaton (2019) have been winners. The event was cancelled in 2020 due to Covid. Significant vouchers prizes are awarded for the first 3-places in both divisions.

There is NO FEE to enter this event. Points are awarded, after each Open event is completed, and are based on the individual players scores that are entered into GolfLink by the individual Club hosting the event. The points for each individual Open event are awarded on a sliding scale with 150 points awarded to the winner, 125 awarded to second-place, 110 awarded for third-place etc., down to 30th place. The 30th place receives 11 points, anyone below that level receives an automatic 5 points for playing (as long as they record a score).

The 2021 competition — which was seriously affected by several Covid-cancelled Open events — was still keenly contested. Prior to the start of the final event — the District Championships which was played at Goulburn on 19th December — there were about 12 players that could possibly win the GROSS event. Federal and Cooma golfer Adam Robinson was lying in 5th-place in the GROSS OOM at the start of the District Championships, and following a par round of 71 strokes and a 3-way sudden death play-off against two Goulburn stars (Dominic Falk and Jono Gann), which he won, he secured enough points to jump past Yowani’s John Fitzgerald, Yass’s Jarred Porter and Yowani’s Kacper Gancarz to take the Best Golfer award and the major Voucher for 2021.

The NETT OOM was taken out by Yowani’s Chris Winslade who just pipped fellow club member, Kacper Gancarz, who was leading this division up until the event at Goulburn.

More information and Conditions, and a list of the events included for 2022, are available in this document….. (click here)

My thanks to Queanbeyan’s Jonathan Ricks who has again kindly offered to manage promotion and the scoring of this event using the District’s Golfbox system.

So, check this web site and the District’s facebook page for regular information on events, results etc.

Jim Jackson 0422 913 495